A Mixed Bag

Well, 2011 continues to be a year of unique experiences.

I’ve plucked a chicken, harvested honey, milked a few cows.
I’ve taught a history class (today!) introducing 10yrold kids to the concept of B.C. and A.D. and the unreliability of 2000+ year old sources pertaining to Alexander the Great (or Alex the Grand, as I’ve taken to calling him).
I’ve gotten into Graduate school – Columbia, Bard and Edinburgh University. I’m going to Edinburgh in August – as I’ve always wanted to do. I still can’t quite believe that it’s happening.
It’s one of the few times in my life where I can genuinely say that I decided I wanted to do something and then set about making damn sure I did everything in my power to make it happen and had it succeed.
Continuing the experiences theme:
I climbed a 2.680 meter high mountain (with a pretty damn steep climb toward the top) with my class on Tuesday. Sitting above the clouds with roughly 30 10 year old students is a unique experience I hope I don’t forget anytime soon.
That same day, I got dumped via email. That was a new experience, to be sure.
Bit of a rough end to a very accomplished day, to say the least. Hopefully, I will forget that feeling soon, and never re-live it.
I won’t say more because I don’t like getting overly personal on this blog – it’s supposed to be book reviews and musings, not a diary of deep feelings. I have a real diary for those kinds of writings.
On that note, the reason I’ve been so lackadaisical about updating here has been because this blog very definitely lost focus. My job made it hard for me to get my accomplished reading list done, as did being distracted by a budding relationship.
I’ve been trudging through “Bury my Heart…” for almost 3 months now and I don’t know when I’ll finish it. That’s not just because of my job – it’s also the hardest book I’ve ever read because there is no… moment of brevity? No brief victory or joy? It’s one downfall after another. One crushing defeat, one annihilation after another. It never lets up and it makes for (selfishly) difficult reading.
Hopefully, now that I’m single again, I will feel re-focused in my reading and get this thing back on its original path.
xoxo
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

