reminders

An undated letter I wrote to myself on an Outward Bound trip with my school. I think I was in form 5 – making me 13-14 years old.

Dear me,
I have nothing to tell you that you don’t already know, so I’ll just write down some advice and a couple reminders. Remember to always be nice to everyone – no matter what your first impression of them is. Remember your limits, and, academically, test them – there is no limit. Remember that you don’t know everything and listen to others. Accept defeat. Don’t boss people around.
Use your common sense – it’s very good – when used. Don’t throw yourself at the boy you like – keep your distance, remain cool. Try to find more time to write. Stop complaining – you don’t need to. Save money – buy a piggy bank. Exercise!
Remember the majestic views from this trip – the mountains around the pousada, the sunset on the Pedra Furada. The awesome people you got to know. The ability you have to keep a cool head and a sense of humour, to get along with just about everyone. Just remember the awesome time you had…
Kisses,
You.
Well. I guess I was an astute kid, 10 years ago (holy shit!), and most of this advice is still stuff that I remind myself of and work at. Good to know?
I guess I’ve been responding to advice from my parents saying “I know, I know” for at least 10 years now… you’d think I’d have broken that habit by now. Eh.
View from Pedra Furada, Itatiaia
This entry was posted in adventure, advice, memories, personal, young adult. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

