Reading! I’m still doing it!

Oh man, I haven’t written a review in ages. I guess that’s a bad sign, because it has the potential to mean that none of the books I’ve read recently has really struck a cord? This is UNTRUE.

Currently reading: The Fry Chronicles; The Autobiography of Stephen Fry. (Excellent!)
Next up: How to be a Woman by Caitlin Moran
The Secret Garden  by Frances Hodgson Burnett (I’ve read this before, but just bought myself a goooorgeous clothbound, illustrated hardcover).

Trudging through Great Expectations by Charles Dickens – I’m enjoying it, but having a hard time following through… I think after reading ASOIF, it was a mistake to pick up another massive book.

Anyway, over the course of this academic year, I have read quite a bit. Here’s some highlights (/the ones I can remember…) in no particular order.

Kill All Enemies – Melvin Burgess
The Song of Achilles – Madeline Miller (recommended by Rach)
A Song of Ice and Fire – George R. R. Martin (all of them)
Chaos Walking – Patrick Ness (trilogy)
A Monster Calls – Patrick Ness
The Lightning Thief – Rick Riordan
The Night Circus – Erin Morgenstern
Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children – Ransom Riggs
13 Little Blue Envelopes – Maureen Johnson
The Last Little Blue Envelope – Maureen Johnson
How I live Now – Meg Rosoff
Bossypants – Tina Fey
Speak – Laurie Halse Anderson

In there interests of full honesty, I will also, for the first time ever, disclose the full extent of the trashier side to my reading.
Romance novels read:

Taming an Impossible Rogue – Suzanne Enoch
The Duke is Mine – Eloisa James
In Pursuit of Eliza Cynster – Stephanie Laurens
Viscount Breckenridge to the Rescue – Stephanie Laurens

Oof! Not so bad! Lots of YA fiction, and some good recent “top ten” type books. There’s nothing there I really didn’t like… aside from How I Live Now,  which I have very conflicted feelings about.
Feels good to write this up, just because it makes me realize what I have accomplished, when I’ve been feeling spectacularly lazy and ill-read in the book department lately. Watching far too much TV these days. (Damn you, Dr. Who!)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

