How long could I look at your face?

Sometimes, I know.
I’ll love your face for a day and a night
Engrave it in my memory
And move on.

Sometimes, I know.
I’ll stare in fascination at your eyelashes and lips
For one entire moment, drinking them them in
And saving them up
For later.

Sometimes, I know.
Your face is made up of features that refuse
To stick in my mind.
So I am surprised and a bit lonely
When I talk to you.

Sometimes, I know.
I could look at your face forever.
Study the faraway look in your eyes
And how your forehead wrinkles
Drink in how your lips shape words
And how your smile cracks open
Your entire being.

Sometimes, I know.
I could look at you forever.

This entry was posted in beauty, desire and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

