Overcast Beach

Damp sand beneath me
Between my fingers, pressing my palms
A slow breeze whipping my hair
The smell of wet pebbles and kelp,
Salt and the horizon

Grey waves brushing the shore
White caps and froth
An overcast sky
Deadwood and
Light trapped in ripples of sand

Down to the water
To the cold, cold water over my ankles
Screaming and leaping in the froth
Until I can stand it
And stand still
Feeling the sand shift beneath my feet

Feeling fragments of shells
And breathing wind that carries stories
And watching the water breathe with me.

This entry was posted in love, personal, Poem, travel, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Overcast Beach

  1. Pai says:

    danish beach…

Leave a Reply

