War

I was young when I learned
That one day I would go to war
With my own body.

I learned it in the locker rooms
Watching the women
Full grown and mysterious
With tan lines and long hair
Moisturizing and smoothing
And primping and weighing
Fighting themselves.

I learned it in the magazines and movies
That pretended to warn me
While actually teaching me
How it would all work one day.

Luckily I was well-armed for this war
By books full of heroines
Short and strong, wielding weapons
Stubborn, honest and hard-working
Heroines who decided
That their bodies did not define them
And neither did the world around them
They defined themselves.
Some of these heroines
Exist in the real world too.

I am winning this war
With my body and the world outside it
Winning this war
Looks a lot like believing
That I can own myself

This entry was posted in feminism, memories, personal, Poem, women and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

